RSS Feed

book review: Marrying Daisy Bellamy

Posted on

The latest offering in the Lakeshore Chronicles by Susan Wiggs continues to follow the Bellamy family, this time focusing on Daisy. I’ve enjoyed other books in this series, and Marrying Daisy Bellamy was no exception.

Daisy’s story is familiar to many of ours… or at least to me. She met a wonderful boy at a young age (Julian) and they fell in love. Life, however, intervened, and she and Julian couldn’t exactly connect like they each wanted. Enter boy #2 (Logan) and the baby they had together. Unfortunately, boy #2 and Daisy did not have nearly the chemistry Daisy and Julian shared, and they were raising their son as single parents.

This is where the story began, anyway. When Julian came back into Daisy’s life, things became complicated rather quickly. I can’t tell you any more for fear of spoiling the ending. I know as well as you do that books like these always strive to end happily. But for awhile I thought the author’s view of “happy” and mine would be quite different. I really did not want Daisy to settle for the wrong man.

Okay. I better stop with the story now and tell you what else I liked about this book.

Susan Wiggs painted characters to feel like ones you know. Daisy’s character touched me because she is an artist — a photographer — and she is passionate about her art. I don’t think of myself as an artist, but I would love to make money from my writing, and I’m jealous of her a little bit. I can also relate to (and admire!) how Daisy reacts to trouble. She stands firm and does what is best for her son Charlie. What mother doesn’t do that?

I know I probably puddle up more than the average person. But my desire for certain things in my own life made me cry when I read that “they were both so damaged by all that had happened. She prayed that once they both healed, they could find their way back to one another.” But come on. I’m a woman. And a romantic. And why wouldn’t I want her to have her happy ending?

Yes, this book is somewhat of a fluffy read. And the ending is a happy one for Daisy. But how they get to the happy? And will you agree with the happy? That’s the surprise. And guess what… that’s what life is all about.

About sisujones

I teach, I write, and I thought I'd be in high school forever. But really? I have no idea what will happen next.

Leave a Reply

